4. Leaflets Distributed with TLA

Ben Morgan to skipper Gloucester against Saracens at Kingsholm

All Areas > Sport > Rugby Union

Author: Roger Jackson, Posted: Friday, 8th November 2019, 12:30

Johan Ackermann Johan Ackermann

It’s the last round of Gallagher Premiership action before European rugby takes centre stage and Gloucester have make six changes to their starting line-up for the visit of Saracens tomorrow (3pm).

Ben Morgan captains the side as Gloucester look to bounce back from their narrow defeat at Leicester last week and make it three wins from four.

Freddie Clarke replaces Ed Slater in the second row with Slater having picked up a foot injury early on at Welford Road while in the back row, Jaco Kriel and Lewis Ludlow return to the starting line-up.

There are also three changes to the backs. Callum Braley gets the nod at scrum-half, Chris Harris will make his first start for the club at outside centre and Jason Woodward returns at full-back with Tom Marshall moving back on to the wing.

Head coach Johan Ackermann is ready for a stern test from Saracens despite all their off-field problems that have sees the face being docked 35 points and fined £5 million for breaching the salary cap.

“The DNA is there, nothing will change that, they’re a tough side,” said Ackermann. “They’ve built a culture around certain things that they believe in and they’ll always be good at challenging you. Whatever team they put out will be well drilled and well coached.

“We expect nothing less. Whatever team comes down will be a team that has a point to prove, and we have to look at ourselves as we can’t afford to play anything like we did last weekend.

“We have to be much better and be prepared for a Saracens side that will be well motivated. We can only control our side, who is going to play and how we prepare against a side that we have to respect if we’re going to beat them.”

Gloucester: 15. Jason Woodward; 14. Tom Marshall, 13. Chris Harris, 12. Mark Atkinson, 11. Ollie Thorley; 10. Danny Cipriani, 9. Callum Braley; 1. Josh Hohneck, 2. Franco Marais, 3. Fraser Balmain; 4. Freddie Clarke, 5. Gerbrandt Grobler; 6. Jaco Kriel, 7. Lewis Ludlow, 8. Ben Morgan (capt). Replacements: 16. Corné Fourie, 17. Val Rapava Ruskin, 18. Jamal Ford-Robinson, 19. Ruan Ackermann, 20. Jake Polledri, 21. Joe Simpson, 22. Billy Twelvetrees, 23. Matt Banahan. Unavailable for selection: Ruan Dreyer, James Hanson, Willi Heinz, Ciaran Knight, Franco Mostert, Ed Slater, Henry Trinder, Owen Williams

Copyright © 2020 The Local Answer Limited.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site's author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to The Local Answer Limited and thelocalanswer.co.uk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

More articles you may be interested in...

The Local Answer. Advertise to more people in Gloucestershire
The Local Answer. More magazines through Gloucestershire doors

© 2020 The Local Answer Limited - Registered in England and Wales - Company No. 06929408
Unit H, Churchill Industrial Estate, Churchill Road, Leckhampton, Cheltenham, GL53 7EG - VAT Registration No. 975613000

Privacy Policy